Past, Present & Future … Reflecting As We Race Towards 2014

1st 5K 2010

Just past the finish line of my first 5K… I’ve come a long way, baby!

 

Yep, that’s me. The past me. Huffing, puffing, heaving and wheezing at the finish of my first 5K just over 3.5 years ago. I can still remember the day I ran my first mile. It wasn’t too long before this first 5K. My first two-mile run – I almost fell off the treadmill in my excitement at hitting that two-mile mark for the first time in my life!

 

You see, I had always struggled with running due to mild asthma, so I just let my horses do the running for me.

Then, in 2009, I started training in Krav Maga. My lungs got stronger, as did the rest of my body, I got tougher, and I realized I can do this running thing. So, when I first ran a two-miler, the lightbulb flashed on – I WILL RUN A MARATHON!

And then, a few weeks later, I ran the first 5K of my life, and, well, you can see how that ended.

The funny thing is, though, I LIKED IT. So I’ve been keeping on keeping on ever since…. Well, except for this past Spring/Summer, but anyhow, I’m back at it.

My past “races”:

2010 Rails to Trails 5K, Marshall, TX
2010 “Hottest Half” Dallas, TX (my 1st 1/2)
2010 Warrior Dash, Central TX
2012 KY Derby Festival MiniMarathon
2012 Owensboro Memorial Day Half
2012 Warrior Dash, KY

Presently training for:

2014 KY Derby Festival Marathon (it will be my first full marathon!)
2-3 Half Marathons (just before & after the full… If my crazy work schedule allows)

Present goal:
Sub 2-hour Half Marathon (my last 1/2 was 2:13)

Future endurance goal:

Complete a 50-mile Ultra (possibly 2015?)

As a new mommy and a full-time factory worker (with crazy hours), 2014 will be an interesting year to say the least.

I invite you to join me in this journey, be inspired and, hopefully, share a few laughs.

Now, tell me, what are your goals for the coming year?

About Jenni On The Run

Jenni On The Run - Balancing work, family & running… And doing a little ranting & raving along the way.

Posted on December 21, 2013, in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

