The Long Run, Week 6: Shawty Droppin’ Mileage Like It’s Hot

20140201-140545.jpg

Today is the first day I’ve run outside in two weeks… Shoot, it’s the first time in nearly as long that I’ve really even gotten a good look at the sun, I’ve been working so much. Running on the treadmill so much has had me concerned about losing fitness. I have mixed in some lunges, jump squats and other strength training exercises these past two weeks, but nothing beats the trials of running outside.

I didn’t really know what to expect of the weather today… Haven’t been keeping an eye on the forecast. So, I was pleasantly surprised to awake to a beautifully sunny and shockingly warm day. Tomorrow we will return to yesterday’s freezing temps, but for this day I was granted a glorious reprieve and I took full advantage of it as I frolicked in the sunshine. It felt wonderfully weird.

What didn’t feel wonderful was the brutal wind… and the hills. Being that this is a low-mileage week and my long run was scheduled for only 8 miles, I decided to increase the difficulty by hitting the hills hot and heavy to make up for two weeks on the treadmill. I tackled some of the biggest hills around… A course I haven’t run in over a year.

20140201-140658.jpg

I had to drop to a walk quite a few times on the hills, so that dropped my average more than I would’ve liked, but really it wasn’t too shabby for where I am right now. Strength and speed will come later… As long as I stick to my plan! (And as long as I eat right… I skipped breakfast and was running on empty. That upped the difficulty and left me toasted!)

Did you run today? How did it go?

About Jenni On The Run

Jenni On The Run - Balancing work, family & running… And doing a little ranting & raving along the way.

Posted on February 1, 2014, in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

