On The Verge of Meltdown: Midnight Mommy Turns Nocturnal

I knew this was coming. It was only a matter of time. It has happened in the past and I knew it would happen again. It’s inevitable.

Night shift.

When I received notice that I was being “bumped” to the night shift at work, at first I was calm and accepted the news well. Like I said, I had been expecting it. But then… Then reality set in.

I kept a cool exterior, but I was freaking out on the inside. When will I sleep? Will I even manage to stay awake through my first night on Nights? When will I run? I have a half marathon coming up FIVE DAYS after flipping my world upside down! When will I eat and what in the world am I going to WANT to eat at that hour?

The only thing I DIDN’T worry about was my time with baby girl and Mr. Incredible. I knew with a certainty that quality time with the fam was about to increase.

As for everything else, I just had to keep reminding myself – it’s like a marathon… You gotta take it one step at a time.

So, that’s what I’m doing right now… Taking it one step at a time. And counting down the hours till I can finally pass out asleep!

About Jenni On The Run

Jenni On The Run - Balancing work, family & running… And doing a little ranting & raving along the way.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Family, Work. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

