The Long Run, Week 8: Say Hello To My Little Friend

20140218-013541.jpg

Morton’s neuroma involves a thickening of the tissue around one of the nerves leading to your toes. This can cause a sharp, burning pain in the ball of your foot. Your toes also may sting, burn or feel numb.

Source: Mayo Clinic

My little friend’s name is Neuroma. Morton’s Neuroma. And he can be a big pain sometimes.

Take this past Saturday for example. After WEEKS of zero pain, Mr. Morton inexplicably decided to remind me of his existence. It started with some soreness on the ball of my foot Thursday, leaving me limping in to work. I tried switching insoles, then took all of the insoles out. The relief was minor. By the time I set out on my long run Saturday, I was prepared for three hours of torture.

Surprisingly, my foot hurt more when walking than running. As a matter of fact, the pain completely subsided for much of the run. Now, AFTER the run was a different story. After 15 miles of pounding the pavement, I had a red sore spot on the topside of my foot… and could barely put weight on it. THAT may have been more from my dropped metatarsals/hammer toes/lack of padding on underside more so than the neuroma, though. I have a veritable cornucopia of foot problems, apparently.

If you would have asked me 6 months ago, all I would have been able to tell you about my foot pain is that I had a very odd callous and a bunion. The first doctor I went to a few years ago basically scoffed at me when I explained I wanted my nearly life-long foot pain checked into since I was making it a goal to run a marathon. After a quick glance at it, he told me I needed to file the callous and nothing could be done for the bunion until it causes unbearable pain.

THANKS. For nothing.

I am so grateful I ended up finding a doctor who, WONDER OF WONDERS, actually took an x-ray! What?! What voodoo magic is this “x-ray” you speak of?

So, my new doctor discovered my little friend, Morton, and his “running” buddies (har har) – Hammertoez, DroppedT, NoPHAT, Buni, and Arthur (that’s my little pet names for what collectively adds up to what I like to call… My Funky Foot).

For the confused, that’s Hammer Toes, dropped metatarsals, no fat to pad my foot, bunion, and arthritis. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, that made for seven of us out there running. I’m not one for social runs… I’m more of the quiet loner. Naproxen usually keeps my annoying little friends at bay, but doesn’t seem to be doing the trick at the moment. I’m thinking I may need to go back to the doc for another round of shots so I can leave Morton and The Funky Five in the dust.

How about you? Do you live and run with foot issues? What do you do to manage it? Have you ever had a doctor scoff at your running goals?

About Jenni On The Run

Jenni On The Run - Balancing work, family & runningโ€ฆ And doing a little ranting & raving along the way.

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ugh, how frustrating! I’ve dealt with my share of injuries (knee, shins) but thankfully never in my feet. Hope you can figure it out and get it healed for good!

    • Thanks! I’m really not so sure that there is a definite long-term fix. I will definitely be asking my doctor some better questions than I have been, the next time I see her. Have a great week! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh man I am right there with you on foot pain right now. I’m still not entirely sure what mine is, though my chiropractor (who I saw today) seems optimistic that I will be pain free soon. I’m currently not running at all though, which is not good for my sanity. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sorry it’s back to bothering you and I hope you are pain free soon!

    • Thanks! It’s been feeling fine this past week… But I only ran on Tuesday. I was sick all last week! Oh well, I’m good to go now – rested and pain-free. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you get to be pain-free very soon, too!

Leave a Reply

