The Long Run, Week 10: Any Which Way But Loose

20140305-174901.jpg

20140305-175039.jpg

20140305-175007.jpg

20140305-174957.jpg

20140305-174935.jpg

As you can see, my long run didn’t go as originally planned… and even the new plan was continuously edited. Between working too much overtime, having a sick baby AND a sick husband (and now am sick again, myself), there was just no way I could dedicate a solid chunk of time to the 16 mile long run that my training plan was calling for. I just didn’t have that sort of time available. What I did have were several short blocks of time. So, I got my run in however, whatever, whenever, wherever possible.

Ultimately that meant three runs during my three breaks at work, and one run, at home, after work. I didn’t get to eat as much as I would’ve liked but I did get to scarf down enough to keep me going.

I PR’d three times – actually probably not a good thing for what was supposed to be a long, easy run, but that is what it took to get the mileage in during my allotted time for breaks. I paid the price for those PRs in three days of IT pain. My legs were tired Sunday and dead Monday.

I wanted to push for a total of 18 miles, but between time constraints and feeling flu-ish, it wasn’t looking like a likely scenario. When I found myself surrounded by singing coyotes with nary a house (safety) around, I turned back early and did my best to keep my fear at bay as I jogged towards home. Considering how my legs felt in the days following, I’ll consider it a good thing I decided to stick to the training plan’s distance instead.

Regardless of not meeting my desired distance goal, I’m proud of powering through a difficult situation and getting my run(s) in. Have you ever faced a situation where you had to break your long run up into smaller runs? Did you feel like it was physically harder than one single long run?

About Jenni On The Run

Jenni On The Run - Balancing work, family & running… And doing a little ranting & raving along the way.

Posted on March 6, 2014, in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

